I was inspired by this song a few months ago when I needed it most!

Singer, Pianist, Songwriter (1979–)

QUICK FACTS

NAME
Sara Bareilles
OCCUPATION
Singer, Pianist, Songwriter
BIRTH DATE
December 7, 1979 (age 34)
EDUCATION
University of California, Los Angeles
PLACE OF BIRTH
Eureka, California
AKA
Sara Bareilles
FULL NAME
Sara Beth Bareilles
ZODIAC SIGN
Sagittarius

QUOTES
“I grew up a fat girl. I had to change schools at one point because the kids were so mean to me. I still often feel I just don’t want anyone to notice anything about me.”
—Sara Bareilles

Synopsis
Born on December 7, 1979, in Eureka, California, Sara Bareilles is a singer-songwriter and pianist known for the hit “Love Song,” off the album Little Voice (2007). The song sold more than 3 million copies and garnered two Grammy Award nominations for the artist. In 2010, Bareilles released Kaleidoscope Heart, featuring the single “King of Anything,” for which she received her third Grammy nod. In 2011, Bareilles was added as a celebrity judge to the third season of The Sing-Off. She left the show prior to its fourth season, and went on to release projects like Once Upon Another Time (2012) and The Blessed Unrest (2013).

Early Life
Singer-songwriter Sara Beth Bareilles was born on December 7, 1979, in Eureka, California, to Paul Bareilles, an insurance adjuster and logger, and his wife, Bonnie. The youngest of three girls, childhood was not always easy for Bareilles. “I grew up a fat girl,” she later recalled. “I had to change schools at one point because the kids were so mean to me. I still often feel I just don’t want anyone to notice anything about me.”

Still, despite a preference to go unnoticed, Bareilles had an unmistakable passion for music and theater. She performed in her school choirs and played Audrey in a high school production of Little Shop of Horrors. Following high school, she attended the University of California, Los Angeles, where she majored in communications. More importantly, she found her singing voice as a member of an a cappella group at the school.

After graduating in 2001, Bareilles, who remained in southern California, set out to pursue her dream of making it as a musician. Over the course of the next three years, she worked the club scene, performing at open-mic nights, landing a few paid gigs and eventually performing at festivals.

Writing ‘Love Song’
In 2003, Sara Bareilles recorded her first demo, Careful Confessions, which eventually got the attention of Epic Records, who signed her to a deal. The company set out to revamp the songs on her debut demo as well as incorporate newer material for her first album, Little Voice (2007).

Ironically, one of the anchors of the album was the hit single “Love Song,” a tune that was sparked by the singer’s own frustrations with Epic and the record-making process. “I was just turning in material and having people not like it,” Bareilles said. “It’s the first time I’d really collaborated with people and gotten their feedback on my material. So I think I got very stubborn and turned off by the whole idea.”

The song took off, however, and in turn, the album quickly gained momentum with consumers, who loved Bareille’s soulful voice and open-book lyrics about love and life. With some heavy promotion from iTunes and Rhapsody, “Love Song” sold more than 3 million copies. Little Voice, meanwhile, became a Top 10 album. The singer-songwriter’s success was punctuated that year by two Grammy Award nominations, for song of the year and best female pop vocal performance.

For Bareilles the sudden success, and the work that went into producing it, was a bit daunting at times. “I was so precious about every choice,” she said. “I was so guarded, and I don’t know that I enjoyed it as much as I could have. There were times where I was so fearful and so anxious about the process: ‘Am I doing too much? Am I selling out? Do I look all right?’ All those things swirl around in your brain. What I’m here to do is play my music, and I want to be able to enjoy the process this time.”

Discussion settings done

